Nuclear Friday: Update and Channel Plug

Somehow I should have known that real life would at some point interfere with writing one long post each week for Nuclear Friday. This is the week it happened, but I still have something for y’all. My computer is having browser compatibility problems that I can’t fix because I don’t know the password to this used laptop I never used until four years it was given to me to get rid of it. I can’t get into my media library, or my drafts. Posts will be shorter and without pictures as they have been for the last two weeks. I hope to have this problem resolved by August for Hiroshima anniversary month.

In other news, my car is barely alive. I’ve negotiated a pretty sweet salvage deal on it because it’s a VW/SEAT design in huge demand in Mexico. I’d sell it now and just walk to work even though that takes an hour except that my dad is dying and I have have to drive out to the NW homeland to take care of things once or twice a week. I basically have three deals to close in three days, and all this is complicated because I have a fraudulent title loan attempt on my credit record. They never caught who did it, though I have my suspicions.

Perhaps when this is all over I will have enough money left over to buy a cheap Linux box and get back rollin on The Big Board. I really do prefer Ubuntu to Apple, and I never use Windows except at work.

So, instead of the “Thorium And the Road Not Taken” post lost in my drafts, I will take the opportunity to plug the highly informative Vintage Space youtube channel by Amy Shira Teitel. She’s a self-described space nerd with degrees in the history of science, and who has become something of an amateur engineer. She also sometimes vlogs about nuclear testing.

Here’s Amy on Operation Cue, which I have written about previously. The specific detonation she’s talking about was Teapot Apple 2:

It’s a good video and goes into more detail about the structural integrity of housing than I did. But she skipped over the Most Important Question investigated by Operation Cue.

Here’s her take on the Plumbbob Galileo shot:

I agree with her that Galileo was not that risky, and that it might not really have simulated actual battleground conditions. Sometimes footage from Galileo is used to show how troops were put at risk from radiation, but Galileo wasn’t the bad one. Two other shots from the Plumbbob test series were much worse.

Vintage Space is a great research resource. Most of the nuclear missiles of the fifties and sixties had a shared heritage with the US space program. Some of the unmanned launch vehicles we still use today are modified nuclear delivery systems from the sixties, and Amy knows all about them.I’ve learned a lot from her channel. But I get the feeling she may be spending too much time in the fifties and sixties. Do you notice what I notice about the language she uses in these videos?

Leave a Reply

